Hello, I'm new to all of this

| Scrap Metal Tips and Advice
    nyjetsfanx93 started this thread.
    SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks

Hello, I'm new to all of this

Hello everyone... I've recently began doing some scrapping.. I have a small SUV so I obviously dont do a ton of volume but I drove around for an hour last night and managed to sell everything at the yard for $33 which made me pretty happy...

My main question is the guy had me just empy everything out of my car into a huge bin.. he looked at it for all of 2 minutes they weighed it and paid me $33 .. I know it was different kinds of metals.. it wasnt Alot of stuff but how do I make sure I get paid accordingly??

I see other people go there and they just pull their vehicle in on the scale.. a horn blows then they drive across the yard and unload the stuff onto the ground and put the vehicle back on the scale again... and then they walk over and get paid... should I just assume that mixed scrap is just mixed scrap and I should only worry about it if I have something like an air conditioner or appliance with alot of copper in it or brass or something??

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    Thanked 3,086 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Welcome to the forum. You're not likely to make that mistake again. First - never assume anything. If you haul it all in and unload it together, you'll either get "mixed metal" or the value of the lowest value metal applied to the whole load. First get a list (most yards will give you a price sheet) and learn the types of metal they buy. Sort your load into these types - you may have to cut some pieces up and take stuff apart to get the most value. Then have it separated when you take it in. Weigh each type separately. Copper, brass and aluminum are examples of non-ferrous (non-magnetic) and need to be cut from whatever they're part of. For more basic types of metal, see my thread titled "Scrap Metal for Beginners".
    People may laugh at me, but that's ok. I laugh all the way to the bank.