Scrap Depot profitable?

| General - Let's talk business
    Sharky-Li started this thread.
    SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks

Scrap Depot profitable?

Hi everyone, i'm new to scrapping and right now i'm extremely ambivalent over something which I was hoping you could help me out with. I apologize in advance for the wall of text so i'll try to keep it to the facts.

My situation is this: a good friend of mine and his brother have a building in the semi-industrial district (Fremont, WA; the area is technically considered industrial by the zoning limits but a major street runs though) where he is hoping to open a scrap yard. He was hoping that I would invest in the company in exchange for becoming a partner. He is looking for approximately 25k investment for everything including: machinery, scales, licenses, minor renovations, etc.

The plan is to setup where people can bring in their scrap metal, ferrous and non-ferrous, and put them into sorted bins. We pay the people cash (up to $30 a time which is the state limit) or write them a check if it's more. We then empty the bins into a large truck (truck holds roughly 5 tons) and take them down the hub recycling depot by the pier once it's full.

We will be working in collaboration with these people as one of their suppliers. They pay us a slightly better rate per lb of metal than if we weren't associated with them, but the margin is only slightly better.

The idea is to have at least a truck a day, but I'm not quite certain that will happen. The incentive for people to come to us is because we're very local whereas the big hubs that ship overseas are located pretty far away.

The question I have is if anyone knows people who do this and how well they do profit wise? I'm very stressed out because I would be investing a good amount of money and would essentially be taking a pretty big risk here.

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks