scrap route

| Scrap Metal Spots
    crazyman16 started this thread.
    SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks

scrap route

I am thinking about going around to my local auto repair shops and see if they had any junk metal, batteries etc they wanted to get rid of and set up a scrap route I was wondering how often do you usually go on your scrap routes? Also is it very profitable?

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks

Re: scrap route

I've tried that with the auto shops in my area and all of them said they already have someone that picks up their scrap. If you live in a heavily populated area like I do. It's tough to get into. I used to be a district manager for a muffler and brake chain. When I was running shops we used to just throw the rotors and brake drums in the garbage. They can fetch quite a bit at the scrap yard as they are 15 to 20 lbs each and don't take up alot of room and when you look at a shop that does a pretty good volume we would easily throw out over 1 ton a week. The catalytic converters, the big scrap yards know what they are worth and send people out to buy them from the shops. They need to have receipts because converters are regulated by the government. Give it a try. I would say once a week is a good place to start but that is something you can work out with each shop depending on the amount of business they do. Good luck.

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    Thanked 3,086 Times in 1,326 Posts

Yes, very profitable. That is the main business I do. Once a month, but this is a relatively rural area. One shop is every other week. I have a post on here titled "Persistence pays off". I stick with smaller independent shops. The competition for the chains or larger one is fierce. Also focus on areas further from scrap yards. I don't even bother going to shops in towns where scrap yards are located.
    People may laugh at me, but that's ok. I laugh all the way to the bank.

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks