Going to Bid A Job

| General - Let's talk business
    ocedy started this thread.
    SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks

Going to Bid A Job

Fellow Sctappers, Got a call from a guy that wants me to tear down an old house. I have not torn one down in years. I have done a few mobile homes. This is a small farm house which has all allum. Windows, copper wiring. Brass door knobs. So there is some scrap value. Now here is my issue. I have two guys that work for me on jobs when needed. I should be able to complete in one week. I do not want to under bid myself. What do you think is a fair price for a job like this? Thanks

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    Thanked 1,331 Times in 512 Posts
    If you're tearing the whole thing down maybe $3000? I've never done anything like that so I have no experiential knowledge, so this is probably a bad conjecture.

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    Sell the wood as reclaimed or cull. We sell Cull lumber (warped, twisted, cracked) at the yard for a fraction of the price because we need to weed it out. Guys would buy Tons of it for odds and end jobs, or for cutting into blocking, bracing, or short pieces. Could make some that way.
    Faith x Needs = Motivation

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    Thanked 2,067 Times in 953 Posts
    Wish I could help you. Sooooooo many variables. Since you have done it before, you probably have a leg up on most of us here. When you do bid the job, we would be interested in hearing about it. Especially the factors involved such as dumpsters, man hours, scrap coming back in your favor, etc. Please keep us informed on this endeavor.

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    Burn it down lol, its on a farm, thats what we do around here!

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by parrothead View Post