Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

New to scraping

| Scrap Metal Questions and Answers
    Suzyq started this thread.
    SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks

New to scraping

Hi I'm new to scraping and had some questions, I was hoping someone would be able to help me out.
    1. I have an old dryer should I take it in whole or rip it apart? (If rip apart how and will there be a lot of bits left over that I can't scrap?)
    2. I have several non-working fans with metal stands, vacuum cleaner, DVD players, microwave, metal framed exercise equipment and broke power/manual tools, can I scrap these and should I take them apart first?
    3. Can you scrap non-car batteries? (I have power tool batteries that won't hold a charge and household batteries)
    4. How much would I have to scrap to make 50 to 75 dollars a week?

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    1) Rip it apart. Use a grinder or a SawzAll. You can also take it apart with a screw driver and sledge hammer. Get the motor and the wires. Save these bits aside. Now everything else metal is probably light iron or tin. Stuff that isn't metal is trash.