Just poking around today

| A Day in the Life of a Scrapper
    Mick started this thread.
    SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    Thanked 3,086 Times in 1,326 Posts

Just poking around today

I've been throwing insulated wire into a pile for about six months. A couple guys bring stuff over to give me and I knew one had thrown some wire onto the pile. Today, I decided to get it picked up for the scrap yard as Insulated Copper ($1.40/lb). Looked like most little stuff like appliance cords, which I'd cut off, computer/radio wire and similar. Too much trouble to strip for what it is. About half way through it, I ran into a bunch of old jumper cables. Nah, still too much trouble to strip. Next was an industrial jumper cable (probably 2 gauge). Decided to strip it. Rubber insulation with a string mesh. String was kind of a pain to strip, but worth it for the six pounds of copper ($3.15/lb). Next was an industrial jumper like I've NEVER seen. I'm hoping somebody can help me figure it out. Clamp (not steel and only opens a couple inches) on one end; flat copper piece with a hole for a bolt on the other end. The cable is made up of seven strands of copper. Each strand is about the size of a regular car jumper cable and made up of smaller strands (like wire rope for you recovery guys). I made a "walking measurement" and came up with 60' (yes, FEET). I'm guessing at one pound per foot or a little more. Rubber insulation only and very brittle.

I haven't looked much further, but looks like there's more to be stripped. Had one good payday yesterday (mostly copper and brass - $750; plus $122 in Light Iron the day before). Best part is that it was all dropped off here "just to get it out of the way".

People may laugh at me, but that's ok. I laugh all the way to the bank.

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    Come to think of it, very likely. The clamp looks like a welding clamp. I'm not usually a welder, so didn't think of it.

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks