Ironhead started this thread.
    SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks

Preparing your truck load to go to the scrap yard!

I am new to the scrapping environment and this forum is the best thing to make you better at scrapping.

My goal it to get the most money out of a prepared load, after I make the drop.
    I had a load of all heavy iron. All heavy wall steel, no sheet metal at all. I called the yard and they quoted me approximately $250. per ton for a prepared load. Prepared Load ????? Nothing over 5 or 6 feet long. No rubber or plastic attached to the material, I need to somehow figure out Presley what they mean by a prepared load ?????

Upon exiting they paid me 235.00 I asked what did you pay me for ? The guy said I paid you for cast iron. too late to argue but once again I felt like a new bride ! WHAT DO YOU NEED TO DO TO GET THE 250. PER TON PRICE??

I brought a ton of prepared cast iron. Four or five engine blocks, no steel bolts in them, several cylinder head, I remove all the valve springs and valves. A clean load of cast iron.
    The guy barely came out of the scale house to look at it. Point to a section in the yard and says just toss it over there.
    It was a mixed pile of steel cast iron ect.
    Here is the big question AM I WASTING MY TIME PREPARING THE LOAD???????
    I see guys picking up scrap, then they drive directly to the yard and dump the load unprepared, is that the way to go????

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    Thanked 3,464 Times in 1,989 Posts
    You may be wasting your time going to that yard. With the concern you have on your loads, and I certainly don't blame you for that, you need to ask them BEFORE you drop the load, what they're classing it as and what's the price

When you first called did you tell them engine blocks, heads etc? If you said heavy iron they might have not known you had engines. Half the battle may be speaking the same language
    Last edited by Bear; 09-15-2013 at 06:17 AM.