| A Day in the Life of a Scrapper
    tllhunter started this thread.
    SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks

Hey guys. I am new to this scraping thing. Quick question for you. I called several local (Louisiana) recycling companies who quoted 0.35 for aluminum and 2.50/2.75 for copper. The LME that same day listed aluminum at 1.05 and copper at 4.09. My question is, is the local scrap (recycling) company turning around and reselling the product for something much closer to the prices listed by the LME and if so who are they selling to and what price do they receive.

Kris Kringle
    All the REAL Scrap dealers I know sell their copper and aluminum to smelters and I am not aware of the Prices they get paid in comparison to what the LME values are. I have seen several on here say it is like 25-30% of course I cant Guarantee you that is correct since I have no acess to their paper work. I can tell you if you have 15-20 Lbs of copper I don't think the smelter will buy it from you But I could be wrong.

I am pretty sure the Large scrap yards sell to the LME warehouses which is located throughout the world.

There is also some small dealers who sell to other larger dealers. And then there is other dealers that sell to companys in other countrys.
    Last edited by Kris Kringle; 12-24-2010 at 04:52 PM.

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks
    In addition to the places Kris Kringle mentioned, some yards will sell their scrap to a foundry (the place where they melt the metal down). I think one of my local yards does.
    There's nothing more fun and more effective than hitting something repeatedly with a sledgehammer

SMF Badges of Honor

Thanks

Red face